My Credentials – I Have None

I have loved writing since I was a kid. I breathed writing. I lived writing. I was a writer and I knew I was going to grow up to be a writer. I wrote poems and stories and I was going to write books. Then all of a sudden, I stopped writing. I struggled to find words, ideas, and stories. People told me to write what I know, but I felt like I didn’t know anything.

Who am I? I am a mom, a wife, a daughter, a sister, and a friend. As cliche as it sounds, I live, I laugh, I love. My husband and I have five kids. I keep house, I pay bills, I advocate for those who are considered “less than”. Other people have said I am so creative. Creative with paper, creative with words, but I don’t feel creative in my mind.

Then one weekend came like many before them. My husband of seventeen years was struggling with his type 1  diabetes management. I put my nose into our books, notes, doctor visits and created a plan. I presented the plan to him. Once again we were living and breathing diabetes and it hit me. Write about what I know. I know what it’s like to live with and love a diabetic.

I have been with my husband through the highs and lows of his chronic disease, as well as the steadies. Diabetes has interrupted my life and frustrated me, as much as it has him. It never rests and it is always present.

Diabetes is much like our 9 year old. We can not control it (or her). We can only manage them. Every day we wait for results and create new game plans. If it’s a good day, the game plan is very similar to the day before. On a bad day, it can be devastating and it is exhausting. We never know what we are going to get.

For 17 years, I have been my husband’s support person.  This is a family affair. Diabetes doesn’t just affect its host, it affects us all. When he has given up, I give my all. He goes head to head with diabetes every single day, and I stand next to him. Diabetes never rests, it never sleeps, it never gives us a break. We are always one step behind, learning the rules, and playing the game.

I will write what I know. I do not have medical knowledge. I have experience.

You are here:

Sugar Daddy

The Position is Filled and the Syringe is too

There will be stories. We have some doozies. You will laugh, hold your breath, and maybe shed a tear.

I’m looking forward to sharing it all. Maybe you are searching for someone who has been there and done that. I just might be that person. Come on in. All are welcome here.

4 thoughts on “My Credentials – I Have None

  1. I am so happy to see you getting your groove on once again. While I do not have diabetes, I do have an auto immune disease that mimics your words (I have it, but we both live with it). Looking forward to reading your experiences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

