We Are Making Progress!

I know it’s been a little quiet around here. First my husband went out of town and I found myself with a lot of free time! The night he left, I started painting the bathroom. I’ve been meaning to for a long, long time. We’ve lived in this house for a whole lot of years. It’s been painted once. It was time..

Speaking of my husband being out of town. He survived. Hurray! To ease my mind, he tested his blood sugar at 1:00AM and texted the results to me. This way he wasn’t going 8 hours without testing his blood sugars. They did run a little high during the week, but we attributed that to all the eating out. The first night, his dinner was 90 carbs! 90!!!

So, he’s home and all is well. Yay. 🙂

We went to a new endocrinologist yesterday. I really, really liked her. I have been to the same clinic with my father, but a different doctor and I don’t really care for her. His doctor discredits a lot of what I say and doesn’t listen to me. My husband’s doctor was good about listening to both of us, answering our questions, giving advice, etc. She told us that diabetes is NOT an exact science and that there isn’t a one size fits all approach to it. I told her that we often feel like failures when his blood sugar is too high or too low. I prefer when it’s just right, but she told us that it’s really hard to hit that magic number. She was impressed with his A1C, which is interesting, because his general doctor is constantly telling us he needs to get it down. His endocrinologist said that a lot of times when the A1C is in the ideal ranges, it comes with the risk of low blood sugars. So he was looking good!

She put in a referral to the nutritionist who is also in charge of all things insulin pump related. She feels that he is an ideal candidate for it. Even with all the research I have done, I didn’t realize that he wouldn’t need to take his long acting insulin anymore! I know that pumps can be expensive, but I am hopeful that with double insurance coverage, they will cover a good portion of it.

So now we wait for his referral to go through. I am so excited about the process and next steps. His endocrinologist feels that he could be outfitted with a pump within the next 6 weeks. So exciting!

One thought on “We Are Making Progress!

Leave a Reply

