Let’s Grab a Bite to Eat

I prepare, shop for and cook meals approximately a bazillion times a month. There are some days that I just don’t want to do it again.

Or

There are times we are out and about. We didn’t plan very well and someone gets hungry and/or my husband needs to eat because he can feel his blood sugar dropping.

So let’s grab a bite to eat!! A burger, some fries, a soda! Yum.

If only it were that easy for my husband, a type 1 diabetic. It’s easy to grab a bite. It’s more difficult to figure out how many carbs are in a meal so he can dose properly for it. Fortunately with smart phones and web sites, the nutrition info is usually right at our finger tips. I have the mad Googling skillz yo!

I’m going to be completely honest here. My husband and I were blown away, flabbergasted, and shocked at the nutrition info for a lot of meals. One glass of regular soda at Shari’s had 48 carbs. 48! If my husband were to drink that, he would need to take 6 additional units of insulin. (he always orders diet, but recently we went to Shari’s and our totally distracted waitress brought him a regular soda and not diet. And this is how we know how many carbs are in a regular soda)

Typically, a meal from a restaurant has more than DOUBLE the carbs of a meal I prepare at home. And do you want to talk about the calories? My husband’s employer often orders lunch for everybody. We looked up the menu online and an order of a burger and fries had 1800 calories! This is how many calories it is recommended that my husband eats per day. IN ONE MEAL!

I can’t even imagine the people who don’t need to know the nutritional info. Downing 3 or 4 sodas because they are unlimited. UGH!

When my husband orders a meal now, he immediately asks for a to go box and splits his meal in half. He only eats half and saves the rest for his next day’s lunch. Meals at home are typically 30-45 carbs, Meals in a restaurant, or the meals he likes, are typically 90. Splitting his meals in two reduces the amount of insulin he takes, and carbs and calories he consumes.

We are also attempting to be proactive. His employer orders from the same restaurants frequently. We are looking up meals and noting how many carbs are in what he orders. This way he never has to guess at the last minute how many carbs he is about to consume. He has proven time and again that diabetes and guessing just don’t play well together.

In summary, grabbing a bite to eat is just not that easy for a diabetic. And there are more calories and carbs in that bite to eat than you realize. (UGH!)

Do you eat out a lot? Do you know how many calories or carbs are in the meals you eat? 

As a side note, I was so disgusted when the next city over from us started posting the calorie count of items on their menus. I never ordered a milkshake again. 😦

5 thoughts on “Let’s Grab a Bite to Eat

  1. Learning so much reading your little blog! Just like eating out and being GF I have to plan so much. It’s getting easier and I bet it will for you too. Even Burgerville has all the nutrition info on their receipts now. And yes, it definitely makes me think twice. And I’ll tell you what makes me think three times. I’ve recently started wearing a fitbit that Steve bought but didn’t use. A mild day with no real intentional exercise and I burn like 1300 calories. Seriously? I can eat that before 3pm! Intentional exercise is a must if I want to continue to consume chocolate in the quantities that make me happy.

    Like

    • I had chocolate today, even though I knew I shouldn’t have! We were going to have Burgerville sundaes the other day, but when I checked the carb count, we didn’t figure 6 units of insulin was worth it.

      Like

  2. I think we all get healthier when we have to take into consideration special dietary requirements for one of our family. There has to be a benefit somewhere for all the hard work! Mind you, I’m terrible for buying a choc bar at the supermarket checkout and scoffing it down on the way home!

    Like

Leave a Reply

